Tags

, , , , , , , , , ,

In My Room

It crept into my life,
a sweet poisonous gas
gently seeping in under the door to my heart
and when I was looking away (for just a moment)
it slipped in through the window to my soul.

It became the only thing that surrounded me,
yet I wasn’t aware it was there at all.
I took in a little with each breath;
the feeling was unrecognizable
and before I could realize what was happening,
I was addicted.

It became all I ever wanted;
I would take in as much as I could
but it was till never enough.
It seemed to feed my feelings and emotions,
letting them grow beyond expectations
and then they withered away.

The poison suffocated me
leaving me gasping for something pure.
I was left no other choice but to open the window
and let it all go.

Journal Entry: July 1999

